SocialCyclists.org

General Discussion => Errors, Complaints, Thoughts .etc => Topic started by: MidgetMaestro on January 12, 2011, 08:33:14 PM

Title: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 12, 2011, 08:33:14 PM
Post your errors and where you were located/what you were doing when you received it.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: truckstop on January 12, 2011, 09:09:52 PM
I'm not sure if this is an "error" or a "complaint" but when I log-in, even if I select "forever" the site does not keep me logged in if I leave and come back.

It could be a browser setting, but thought I'd check here first.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 12, 2011, 09:16:33 PM
I'm not sure if this is an "error" or a "complaint" but when I log-in, even if I select "forever" the site does not keep me logged in if I leave and come back.

It could be a browser setting, but thought I'd check here first.

Do you have cookies & cache enabled? Also, did you completely close your browser, or just leave the site to go to another link?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: truckstop on January 12, 2011, 09:19:28 PM
Do you have cookies & cache enabled? Also, did you completely close your browser, or just leave the site to go to another link?

I do have cookies and cache enabled.

It happens if I close the window, and then come back to the site later. I don't completely close/quit Firefox.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 12, 2011, 09:22:34 PM
I do have cookies and cache enabled.

It happens if I close the window, and then come back to the site later. I don't completely close/quit Firefox.

We'll have to take a look at this issue. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 13, 2011, 12:38:32 PM
Has anyone had any difficult posting with firefox now that we've enabled search engine friendly URLs?

We're going to have to play around with our settings a bit. The instant we disabled the function, we could post normally again.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: Speciale on January 13, 2011, 07:17:45 PM
Has anyone had any difficult posting with firefox now that we've enabled search engine friendly URLs?

We're going to have to play around with our settings a bit. The instant we disabled the function, we could post normally again.

Was it a cache issue?

I can't see how some rewritten URL's would be browser dependent.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 13, 2011, 07:20:52 PM
Was it a cache issue?

I can't see how some rewritten URL's would be browser dependent.

Too many redirects for most browsers to handle. We're working on an alternative.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: RUOkie on January 14, 2011, 02:33:39 PM
Do you have cookies & cache enabled? Also, did you completely close your browser, or just leave the site to go to another link?

Same thing happens with Safari
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: mike868y on January 14, 2011, 03:28:13 PM
I keep getting this error message:


The following error or errors occurred while posting this message:Your session timed out while posting. Please try to re-submit your message.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 14, 2011, 03:56:10 PM
Mikey, this issue is more than likely on your side of the table. I did a little looking and the forum didn't spout any errors, and as of now, I believe you're the only person having this issue. Try clearing your cache, cookies, and restarting your browser. Let me know what happens. 

Well forget all of that stuff, I'll keep looking. :P
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on January 14, 2011, 03:59:27 PM
it happens to me too.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 14, 2011, 04:00:55 PM
it happens to me too.

When did it first start happening?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on January 14, 2011, 04:03:14 PM
hmm.  I think I remember it happening yesterday.  maybe earlier.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 14, 2011, 04:05:05 PM
hmm.  I think I remember it happening yesterday.  maybe earlier.

Interesting. I don't recall making any posting changes yesterday....did it only occur once or twice?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: ijen on January 14, 2011, 04:28:51 PM
The site has been very slow for me today, and a few times wouldn't load at all.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 14, 2011, 04:31:08 PM
The site has been very slow for me today, and a few times wouldn't load at all.

That's easy to fix. I'll just yell at our host.  ;)
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on January 14, 2011, 04:33:08 PM
Interesting. I don't recall making any posting changes yesterday....did it only occur once or twice?


yes. not every post.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 14, 2011, 07:23:43 PM
The site has been very slow for me today, and a few times wouldn't load at all.

Alright, I cleared our cache, unnecessary logs and lodged a couple complaints. It should be much faster now.  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on January 18, 2011, 03:42:52 PM
The mobile site is working for me now, and it's looking a lot better. Well done!
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 18, 2011, 06:34:02 PM
The mobile site is working for me now, and it's looking a lot better. Well done!

Awesome!!  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on January 19, 2011, 11:05:32 AM
Now the site is going to the full site again, when I'm on my mobile. Too bad... the mobile site is definitely better for this application.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 19, 2011, 12:47:55 PM
I'll take a look rog. Remind me again, what phone/OS/browser are you using? We had a bunch of bugs pop up after our maintenance and testing today, and tracking each one down has been a real pain in the ass  :breakcomp:

Title: Re: Errors
Post by: shovelhd on January 19, 2011, 12:58:35 PM
Same as me, HTC EVO, Android 2.2 (Froyo). I never got to the mobile site.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on January 19, 2011, 06:58:16 PM
HTC Evo, froyo 2.2. The mobile site comes up occasionally, but less than half the time. No big deal if I'm just reading, but it sucks if I want to post.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: wens on January 19, 2011, 07:14:01 PM
I'm at work, mobile site is working on my incredible right now, and hasn't before.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: RUOkie on January 19, 2011, 07:32:44 PM
on my iphone the mobile site launches 100% of the time :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 19, 2011, 10:35:13 PM
HTC Evo, froyo 2.2. The mobile site comes up occasionally, but less than half the time. No big deal if I'm just reading, but it sucks if I want to post.
Well hopefully it gets more consistent....I do really like our mobile theme and settings...much lighter and cleaner than the full forum.
I'm at work, mobile site is working on my incredible right now, and hasn't before.
 

on my iphone the mobile site launches 100% of the time :thumbsup:

Awesome.  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on January 20, 2011, 12:51:50 PM
on my iphone the mobile site launches 100% of the time :thumbsup:


On my Evo I can make phone calls 100% of the time.  ;D
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: RUOkie on January 20, 2011, 01:12:08 PM

On my Evo I can make phone calls 100% of the time.  ;D


 :lol:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: Homebrew on January 25, 2011, 10:40:34 AM
When I'm at the bottom of a page in a multi-page thread, then I click the number of the next page, it takes me to the bottom of the next page instead of the top.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on January 25, 2011, 10:41:27 AM
When I'm at the bottom of a page in a multi-page thread, then I click the number of the next page, it takes me to the bottom of the next page instead of the top.


let me guess, IE?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 25, 2011, 10:48:42 AM

let me guess, IE?

heh  :D
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: Homebrew on January 25, 2011, 10:55:31 AM

let me guess, IE?
I'm all the way up to IE 7 now-a-days  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 25, 2011, 10:59:20 AM
I'm all the way up to IE 7 now-a-days  :thumbsup:

Oh boy. Can we suggest firefox (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/), chrome (http://www.google.com/chrome), ie 8 (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer/default.aspx), opera (http://www.opera.com/) or safari (http://www.apple.com/safari/)?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: truckstop on January 27, 2011, 10:33:28 AM
(testing)
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 27, 2011, 10:45:24 AM
Log out of SC completely, clear your cookies and cache, and then log in and try it again.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 28, 2011, 09:45:31 AM
TS, we'll just classify this issue as unresolved, but most likely not fixable.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 28, 2011, 09:47:31 AM
Ok, that's it...it's that the website has scaled down, putting the borders at the width of the browser, but the banner is now too wide for it. Makes it look unbalanced. I'd show you what I'm seeing, but I don't seem to be able to upload a pic.

Rog, I checked the upload directory and tested the upload manager, and both are working on my side. Did you receive any errors or messages when you tried to upload?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on January 28, 2011, 10:18:40 AM
Rog, I checked the upload directory and tested the upload manager, and both are working on my side. Did you receive any errors or messages when you tried to upload?

No errors, I just wasn't given the option to upload - it was url only.

Btw, I'm on my mobile, but I'm seeing the main site. Haven't seen the mobile site since the move.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 28, 2011, 10:33:18 AM
Hm. I'll look into that.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: RUOkie on April 04, 2011, 02:45:47 PM
The multiquote does not work.  If I try to multiquote, I just get a standard quick reply window.  This happens both in IE9 and Safari.
 
Also, when  I try to post twice in <30sec, and hit back, I get stuck in a loop that does not allow it to be posted.  This last time, I was told that it was a double post, but nothing was posted.  :banghead:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on April 04, 2011, 03:11:33 PM
I wonder if those little icon thingies are messing up the multiquote and double-posting.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rog on April 04, 2011, 03:35:49 PM
I might have gotten multi-quote to work once...
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on April 04, 2011, 03:59:19 PM
it worked fine before.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 04, 2011, 04:36:55 PM
I might have gotten multi-quote to work once...
it worked fine before.

test...
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 04, 2011, 04:37:10 PM
I'm using FF.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: <gmt> on April 04, 2011, 04:52:24 PM
no good on safari.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 04, 2011, 05:12:52 PM
I'm using FF.
no good on safari.

Stupid cross-browser compatibility.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: wens on April 04, 2011, 09:08:36 PM
Stupid cross-browser compatibility.


not sure if it's been mentioned yet, and I know you're aware of the problem, but chrome is also a no-go. I'm too lazy to go check opera, so we'll just assume it doesn't work either.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: makel on April 05, 2011, 12:48:52 AM
I gots no complaints. :)
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 05, 2011, 09:00:04 AM

not sure if it's been mentioned yet, and I know you're aware of the problem, but chrome is also a no-go. I'm too lazy to go check opera, so we'll just assume it doesn't work either.

Multi Quote has been disabled since early yesterday afternoon. I'm adding it to a giant stack of things to fix/update/improve.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 05, 2011, 09:00:16 AM
I gots no complaints. :)

 :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on April 09, 2011, 12:49:02 PM
Multi Quote has been disabled since early yesterday afternoon. I'm adding it to a giant stack of things to fix/update/improve.

Attempted to fix it....no good. Still working on it folks.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rando on January 13, 2012, 01:45:21 PM
There is an error present that erases linked videos if you preview before posting or edit at any time after it has been posted.  It also does this to web links not embedded into text to make it clickable.  Not sure if this was an issue that you were made aware of previously.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: Seth on January 13, 2012, 02:11:10 PM
There is an error present that erases linked videos if you preview before posting or edit at any time after it has been posted.  It also does this to web links not embedded into text to make it clickable.  Not sure if this was an issue that you were made aware of previously.

True story. Thanks.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on January 13, 2012, 02:25:46 PM
There is an error present that erases linked videos if you preview before posting or edit at any time after it has been posted.  It also does this to web links not embedded into text to make it clickable.  Not sure if this was an issue that you were made aware of previously.
True story. Thanks.

Wasn't aware of it...thanks for bringing it to our attention. :beer:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: rando on October 10, 2012, 08:30:54 PM
I noticed today the sent messages portion of my mailbox returns a no messages page.  Maybe this is only me?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: wens on October 10, 2012, 08:45:06 PM
I noticed today the sent messages portion of my mailbox returns a no messages page.  Maybe this is only me?


i believe you have to actually check a box for them to be saved.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on October 11, 2012, 04:27:11 AM
Too many redirects for most browsers to handle. We're working on an alternative.

I know with most mozilla based browsers the # of redirects is an internal setting. I believe the default is 20 though, which is quite a few. 
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on October 11, 2012, 12:59:45 PM
I know with most mozilla based browsers the # of redirects is an internal setting. I believe the default is 20 though, which is quite a few.

This issue's been solved for a while  :P
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on October 11, 2012, 07:53:20 PM
This issue's been solved for a while  :P

my bad, I was awake a ohDarkThirty and just didn't realize the date..
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on December 15, 2012, 09:43:50 PM
Switched over to chrome and noticed there are no sounds within the chat, found this

http://sourceforge.net/p/ajax-chat/discussion/774132/thread/f6334160 (http://sourceforge.net/p/ajax-chat/discussion/774132/thread/f6334160)

is this something that can be fixed on your end?
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on December 16, 2012, 10:32:35 AM
Fixed (confirmed with OS X Chrome).
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on December 16, 2012, 10:57:34 AM
Just tested it on Linux Ubuntu Chrome, works. Thanks
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: alexvpaq on December 16, 2012, 11:57:46 PM
to be honest, don't fix it on chrome windows 7  :lol:  I would then have to turn it off everytime :P



Edit :

You guys fixed it  :facepalm:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on December 17, 2012, 12:26:07 PM
Edit :

You guys fixed it  :facepalm:

Not so quick. It works great on my laptop but back to my desktop it doesn't work. Any ideas?

edit: weird. it works now. Disregard my dumbidity.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on July 31, 2013, 05:53:43 PM
Quote
The attachments upload directory is not writable. Your attachment or avatar cannot be saved.

I'm trying to change my avatar and that's the error I'm getting
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on August 01, 2013, 09:21:43 AM
I'm trying to change my avatar and that's the error I'm getting

I'll get to work on it in a little bit. Corporate meeting right now.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on August 01, 2013, 01:25:12 PM
Should be all fixed now KK.  :)
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: KandK_Dad on August 01, 2013, 06:01:36 PM
Should be all fixed now KK.  :)

 :thumbsup:
thanks!
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on August 02, 2013, 07:37:45 AM
No prob! :hannibal:
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: makel on October 02, 2013, 10:19:21 AM
tap a talk said something about socialcyclists not up to date or something... Maybe I'm just having operator error and can't figure it out though.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: heppm01 on July 03, 2014, 11:17:37 AM
Just in case I'm the only who's noticed:

The forum's been really laggy the last day or so and is throwing a lot of Internal Error 500 messages.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: makel on July 03, 2014, 01:25:46 PM
I finally checked back in yesterday or tried to and I thought it was gone.
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: MidgetMaestro on July 03, 2014, 10:35:15 PM
Nope, y'all aren't crazy. We received a couple notices from our host that the DC was having issues. Should be all good now. Thanks hepp and makel!
Title: Re: Errors
Post by: Wylde06 on July 04, 2014, 01:48:29 PM
Nope, y'all aren't crazy


I think that depends on who you ask






 :D